A letter to my mommy…

Dear Mommy,

Thank you for everything you have sacrificed for me through the years.  As much as we fight and bicker, I like to think that’s our way of showing we love one another ;).  The reason we probably bicker so much is because you know me too well. Unfortunate for you, I also got your stubbornness.

I know it couldn’t have been easy to uproot your life from Korea and move to a new country with no friends or family to support you.  I know you miss your sister so much.  I don’t know how you did it all these years, but I’m glad you did…

Thank you for always believing in me no matter what happened or will happen.  I love all your random letters you write to me for support..one half in korean and one half in broken english. 🙂  I know you were probably using a dictionary looking up the perfect words to use, but that’s what makes it more special to me.

I know along the way you have given up your dreams to give me a chance at my dreams..and for that I will forever be grateful.  I love how I always come up with crazy business ideas and you always say “okay…*insert suggestion for business here*…” with a straight face, no less.

After all these years, I finally understand where I get my sense of adventure and this need & want for MORE from life…it was you.  You always thought no one understood you and no one was on your side, but now I finally see…I am becoming more like you, each and every day.  Thank you for instilling in me the persistence and motivation to chase my dreams (whatever it may be).  Even though I don’t know what I’m running towards, at least I know I want to run towards something bigger and something better..

You’re always apologizing to me saying that I should’ve been born to a better family, a wealthy family who has a good background.  However, I wouldn’t trade my family for anything in the world. Yes, we were not the richest, but not once did I ever know that…and I know that it was thanks to you and Daddy for making sure I always had everything I needed and wanted.  God has truly blessed our family and I couldn’t be more grateful…

I love you and everything that you’ve done for me (and continue to do for me..).  I pray that God continues to bless our family and bless you with health & happiness. I will try to cut down on our bickering….but I like to think that it keeps you young 😉 ❤ you!

love always, yu mee

my mom rockin her aviators

Leave a comment